I Once met a guy

For general chit chat on RSE related topics. You are walking through the woods and come upon a group socializing around the campfire. Pull over a log to sit on and join us. Introduce yourself here! Pages 1 & 2
Leemar

I Once met a guy

Unread post by Leemar »

True Story:

I worked in the field of particle size reduction (i.e. flour mills, powdered sugar, pigments, chemicals etc.) It is a known FACT that fine particle size distributions require exponential increases in horsepower impacted on the particle. Horsepower imparts large amounts of heat to the particle undergoing size reduction thus it is extremely difficult to grind heat sensitive materials to very fine distributions because ... well... absent nitrogen or CO2,,,, they melt. That is a fact.

Part B:

Very fine particle size distributions (avg. distribution < 5 micron) for relatively soft materials on the Mohs(3 or 4) scale require application of a jet mill which is a high pressure mill which essentially drives particles into one another thus accomplishing the reduction/attrition. Beyond 3 or 4 on the Mohs scale and you are talking about some serious Mega Engineering equipment (ie Combustion Engineering type equipment) to make little stuff out of bigger stuff.

Part C:

Jet mills require huge compressor capacity, ie huge horsepower, huge airflow, huge dust collection/pollution control for relatively low outputs. The mills work but they are very expensive to purchase, operate, and maintain. (See Hosokawa Beepex Alpine for examples) So the product has to be very dear.

Part D:

I get a call from a guy from Israel and he is going to be in the US to meet with companies involved in size reduction regarding a new mill design which can achieve unknown achievments in size reduction efficiency. This guy claims he can achieve throughut rates and particle distributions at some one half the horsepower requirements of all existing technology. This guy comes to Chicago and visits with us. And .....